True Me

Kevin Baugh
1 min readApr 15, 2023

--

A poem about the Me the world sees vs the Me inside.

Round Mirror by Inga Gezalian on Unsplash

See me?
Face on display;
Eyes full of silent plea.
This mask is used for overlay.
False me.

Head bowed,
Eyes not meeting.
Deep thoughts ne’er voiced aloud;
An inner voice sounds defeating.
Thoughtful.

Mirror,
Lying stranger.
Wish the view was clearer;
Or at least, come with a changer!
Match me!

Soft tone,
Calm expression.
Looking at me unknown;
Some glare with mad indiscretion.
Love me!

Carefree,
In my own skin.
Being a bel esprit;
Not caring about your chagrin.
True me!

A prompt from YourDictionary sparked this poem and is part of my NAPOWRIMO 2023 Challenge. Editing was completed by Ravyne Hawke, Petunia Petals, ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE, and the Promptly Written editorial group. Thank you, everyone!

If you enjoyed this poem, please follow me, or subscribe to my page to be kept up-to-date on my newest posts and stories. Thank you for reading.

--

--

Kevin Baugh

Entrepreneur • Poet • Fiction Writer • Crafter • Amateur Photographer • Artist • Gardener • Veteran • Cook • Neurodivergent